The Schedule

Instead of one single designated New Zealand Stand Up Paddleboard Championships event (as happened this year at Orewa, for example), the plan for 2019 is to run a series of Championship events, allowing each discipline to take place in a venue that can hopefully deliver optimum conditions for that particular discipline.  The following events will make up the 2019 series:

New Zealand Technical and Sprint Championships, Pauanui – 22/23 February

New Zealand Distance Championships, Takapuna, Auckland, 18-19 April 2020
Registrations Now Open – Click here!


Age classes

  • Youth: Under 12*, Under 14*, Under 16*
  • Under 19
  • 20-39
  • 40-49
  • 50-59
  • 60-69
  • 70 and over

Age as of the first of January. No minimum numbers are required for an age class. Male and female classes.

*No under 12, 14 or 16 classes for Aotearoa Down Wind Champs. This event is for experienced and competent paddlers only. Any youth paddlers that meet these criteria will compete in Under 19.

All podium finishers will be recognised as National title holders (1st, 2nd, and 3rd) in their respective age groups for the races they participate in. Premier awards will be provided for first three males and females across the line in the Under 19 and Open (anyone over 19) for the Technical race, the Downwind race, the long distance (16km) course of the distance race and the Sprint races.
NZSUP is currently investigating series leader board options and awards, and will notify paddlers once decisions are made regarding this.

Board classes
14 foot and under for all age groups except for under 16, under 14 and under 12. Note: Each event manager is able to add additional board classes as they see fit.